BlueCross BlueShield of Alabama
AL
The cited guide does not state a 2027 implementation date. It describes global maternity billing when the same physician/group provides all components; its claims tips specify four or more antepartum visits, delivery and postpartum care. For separately reportable care, it lists E&M for 1–3 antepartum-only visits, 59425 for 4–6, 59426 for 7 or more, and 59430 for postpartum-only care. The guide instructs providers to submit the most current codes.
- Published
- Not stated in source
- Transition starts
- Not stated in cited guide
- Billing starts
- Not stated in cited guide
- Evidence checked
- 2026-08-28
Billing notes and scope
Scope: BCBS Alabama medical maternity coding reference; specific Commercial and Medicare products are not identified, and Dental/Vision applicability is not established. Not 2027 implementation guidance.
Transition: No 2027 transition or grace period is stated in this guide. This document alone cannot establish whether other payer guidance exists.
Global billing: The guide describes global billing for complete same-physician/group care, but instructs providers to consult the CPT manual for current updates and submit the most current codes. It does not authorize continued use of listed codes until a payer-specific 2027 update is posted.
Informational reference only; verify member eligibility, benefits and exact product applicability before applying its guidance. The source does not discuss 2027 code deletions. Its different-practice antepartum/postpartum sentence conflicts with Scenario A about which provider reports those services.